so i had the Wasabi Nabe Yaki Udon which was basically noodle soup with chicken, vegetables and prawns, with some heated Sake, with Green Tea Ice Cream and Deep Fried Mangos In Syrup for dessert.
The Wasabi Nabe Yaki Udon was so delicious - it was kind of hard to eat with chopsticks, but i'm not exactly a pro at using them, so it's perfectly acceptable, and i think they'll give you a fork if you ask for one. it also comes with that ladle type thing, which is good for when you get to the end, and you want to drink the rest of the soupy bit. although, i didn't really get to that bit, because it's so filling, i just couldn't finish it. i got about two thirds of the way through i should think, but i just couldn't finish it. nevertheless, it tasted so good, i'm really going to miss this place when i go home.
The Sake came in a little bottle with shot size glasses, and it tasted kind of like warm vodka to be honest. although, i liked it more than vodka because it didn't seem quite as strong, but i didn't drink a lot, although i think it probably wouldn't be too hard to get drunk on. although, it didn't taste as nice when it got cold.
I wasn't going to have any dessert, because i was so full from eating the Udon before, but we ordered two between four of us; the ice cream and the mangos.
The mangos tasted pretty good, it was a bit weird to eat them warm, because i'm used to fruit being cold, and not deep fried, but it actually worked quite well, and went nicely with the ice cream.
The Green Tea Ice Cream tasted pretty much just like normal tea ice cream. i don't really like green tea, so i was a bit dubious about it, but it tasted pretty good.
The whole restaurant is decorated in a very Japanesey style, which is awesome because walking in there makes you feel a little bit like you're actually in Japan, at least how i imagine it would feel - i haven't actually been to Japan. i think they also do take aways, which i will definitely be taking advantage of next year when i'm living just down the road, and i think you got a discount on take aways, but i can't be sure. either way, this is a place i will definitely be going back to. it just goes to show that even if raw fish isn't your thing, there are still good Japanese meals to try.



No comments:
Post a Comment